Submit a nomination for the current year's cover contest
Return to Cover Cafe's Home Page

Jenny Gustafsson:

The results of our 2005 cover contest are in! Readers, authors, and cover enthusiasts have spoken. Our winners are:
Winner in Alternate Reality Winner Romantic Suspense
Spell of the Highlander Every Breath You Take
Winner Two-Image Cover Winner in Historical
A Most Unsuitable Man Shadows and Strongholds
Winner in Contemporary Winner in Series
The Love of a Lawman Come October

2005 Cover Ballot Committee:

  • Lisa Baca
  • Blythe Barnhill
  • Marlene Breakfield
  • Marian Clough
  • Linnae Crady
  • Leanne Davis
  • Teresa Galloway
  • Ann Garland
  • Mary Alice Gibbons
  • Jenny Gustafsson
  • Christiane Johnson
  • Mary Ann Johnson
  • Elaine Lee
  • Tobi Liedes-Bell
  • Jeanette van de Lindt
  • Sandi Morris
  • Mary Lynne Nielsen
  • Rachel Potter
  • John Rothermel
  • Sharon Shearouse
  • Jo-Ann Walmsley
  • Karen Wheless

    Just a few notes about the contest and commentary: This was the first year that the cover contest was held on our own site. In previous years, the contest has been hosted by AAR. It was also the first year for Jo-Ann, Karen, and I to count all the votes. With the contest being so late in the year, and moving to our own site, we were a bit worried that we wouldn't receive many votes. But I'm glad to say we didn't have to worry about that. We received so many votes that our webhost couldn't handle the traffic it was generating! In the first week, the votes just poured into our mail boxes, and they continued to drop in in a steady stream until the closing date. Luckily, we'd set up some rules to sort the votes into appropriate folders, otherwise we probably wouldn't have finished tallying the votes before Christmas... We want to thank all of you so much for participating and voting in the contest!

    Thanks to Laurie at AAR for linking to the contest, and posting reminders on your site! I'm sure we got lots of votes that way.

    Thanks again to the coverballot committee, and to all the readers and authors who nominated covers and voted in the contest. And thank you Jeanette for making those wonderful logos! I'd also like to thank Jo-Ann and Karen for counting votes, and their commentary on results pages. I couldn't have done it without you. We are already starting to work on next year’s contest, so please keep those nominations coming!

    The award image below is sent to the authors of the winning covers in all categories except for Worst. However, the award is available upon request to the winner of the Worst category since some authors also feel that's a unique honor!

    Winner in the 2005 Cover Cafe Contest!


    Cover Cafe on Twitter™        Cover Cafe on facebook®


All Rights Reserved.
No profit is generated from this website.
If you think we are in copyright violation of any image,
please let us know and we will remove the same immediately.
When available we give due credit to artists, authors, and publishers.